January 26th 1914

In Chemistry we prepared Carbon dioxide. Mr. Mayo gave us a test on seven irregular verbs and as I only got 3 all right I had to stay in. I was excused for the time as I said there was the “Cook’s” badge examination on. After consulting M. Hope (known as “The Ancient”) I did not go as he said he would persuade the examiners to give it me without exam; because it must be known, I did two days cooking at camp, when the food was excellent. So I went back to Mayo’s. Caught 3.55 back. My mouth + tongue etc are all very sore and I keep taking Borax and water for rinsing my mouth.

Leave a Reply

