February 14th 1914

The pen which I sent for on 6 just arrived (from John Bull). It is a bit scratchy but otherwise nice. I think it will be alright. I did some lessons in the morning and then went to Boots about my emulsion which would not mix. I got some [?] and after adding some water it turned out splendidly. In the afternoon we went to the clubroom and Troop II came and we played them at football. In the first half the score was against us 2-0, but we finished by 3-4. “It was a glorious victory”. After tea Mr. King showed us some slides + then at about 8.30 when Troop II had gone we had a confab. I was appointed Patrol leader of the Rhinoceros Patrol if Hegarty left. To this Dishy agreed but Worsley and Rivers said I was too young, but Dishy furiously attacked them and “chased them with the valour of his tongue”.

Leave a Reply

