March 7th 1914

In the morning I went to Parkes’ + went with Bentley’s man, diving, to Monton. In the afternoon I went for my bicycle + then went to Bernard’s, after fixing on my “tyre” bell. It was his birthday + he had a steam-engine, which drove a Meccano model windmill. It goes splendidly. I stayed to tea + then at about 8 o’clock I went into the village and bought an oil bicycle lamp for 17s, a “Demon”. It is quite a good one. Then I prepared for morning after messing round at Eccles Cross. Cyril played at Scout Exhibition in Eccles.

Leave a Reply

