April 1st 1914

I got up as usual. I had some fun with Uncle Bertie and Bertha. I sent them a post-card + a letter respectively with “April Fool” written inside. Also I kept dropping pieces of paper with the same inscription. But at Ordsall Lane I gave in an old railway ticket with “April Fool” printed on it. Mayo also got many beautiful surprises. We all got him a good golf ball which Haygarth asked Jepson to bring up. It came by post. Jepson did but Mayo would not open it + threw it in the paper basket because he thought it was empty. At last he got Burton to open it + he saw the ball, but he said nothing about [it]. There was the Upper School Parents Evening. The concert went well but Bradburn was weak. Mother saw Mayo + he said I was doing well. Mr Chatterton had a good report of me. I caught the 8:45 after going for Cyril’s badge, but it was shut.

Leave a Reply

