March 28th 1914

In the morning I caught the 8:53 train + ran in the steeplechase. At the first steep hill I got a good start + in the Clough I kept up well but when we got into the region of Drinkwater Park I lost a good bit on account of a stitch. I plodded wondering when I should see the end of the race. But on and on the pain increasing. I stopped three times, but on + then a sudden spurt on at the end. I was a minute before the limit time. There I met Dish and he took on the carrier of his m-bike to the dressing room. In the afternoon I went to the station as the scouts went to Holcombe Hill but our train was late + I missed them. I went to Parkes’ to tea with Asquith + we had some fine fun switching the lights off + getting Parkes ratty. Haygarth and I only got shouty.

Leave a Reply

